Category Archives: introductions

Me, Morelia.

me, Morelia

My name is Morelia Irene Vazquez Martinez. I’m a speaker of Ch’ol, and I’m originally from Campanario in the municipality of Tila, Chiapas. Right now I’m studying in the Tecnol√≥gico Superior university in Macuspana, Tabasco. I’ve participated in different Ch’ol linguistics projects doing translations, transcriptions, and data collection, among other things. I really like doing this work and I’m happy to be working with other people who also love our language Ch’ol. ūüôā

Me, Matilde

Kik’oty kmajs

My name is Matilde V√°zquez, I’m originally from the community of El Campanario, in the municipality of Tila. I studied social anthropology at the Universidad Autonoma of Chiapas. I live in San Cristobal de Las Casas. I have written a lot in our language Chol, and I’ve also done translations from Spanish to Chol during the time when I worked at CELALI.

Introduction

My name is P√©rez G√≥mez, I’m originally from Cuviac, Tacotalpa, Tabasco. I’m 20 years old and I’m a speaker of the language Chol. I’m working on my bachelors degree in Language and Culture, and right now I’m participating in recording Chol narratives.

Norma, Guadalupe, Abigael y Adelaida

 

 

Introducing Carol-Rose

Mia Wiegand, me, and Morelia Vázquez Martínez

My name is Carol-Rose Little. I am doing my PhD in linguistics at Cornell University in Ithaca, NY. I am from the United States and I did my BA in linguistics and Russian studies at McGill University, in Montreal, Canada. I started learning Ch’ol in 2015 when I went to San Miguel, Chiapas. There I stayed with Nicolas Arcos Lopez’s mother and sisters. They were the ones who taught me the Tumabal√° dialect of Ch’ol. I am also familiar with the Tila dialect.

Making tamales in Campanario

For my PhD, I am writing my thesis on the syntax and semantics of noun phrases in Ch’ol and Tojol-ab’al.

San Miguel

Introduction: Nicol√°s

Nicol√°s and Juan Jos√©, chatting.¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† ¬† My name is Nicol√°s Arcos L√≥pez and I’m originally from the town of San Miguel, Salto de Agua, Chiapas. Now I work at the¬†Universidad Intercultural del Estado de Tabasco. I did a bachelor’s degree in history at the Universidad Ju√°rez Aut√≥noma de Tabasco in Villahermosa. After that, I did my master’s degree in Indoamerican linguistics at CIESAS-DF. I like teaching and learning about topics in Indigenous languages. And am now participating in the project supported by¬†National Geographic Explorers.

Uriel and Joél.

 

Introducing Jessica

My name is Jessica Coon and I’m originally from Oregon in the United States. Since 2011 I have lived in Montreal, Canada where I’m a linguistics professor at McGill University. This semester I am living and working in San Crist√≥bal de las Casas with my husband and two kids.

Jessica and kids in Montreal

I started working on Ch’ol in 2002 in Campanario and have worked on topics in Ch’ol grammar, and more recently on Chuj with speakers in Montreal.

Virginia, Ella, and Jessica in Campanario

Juan Jes√ļs: What I do

I’m originally from Tila, Chiapas and I now live in San Crist√≥bal de Las Casas, where I’m currently working as a researcher in the CIMSUR branch of UNAM. I did my bachelor’s degree in social anthropology in UNACH and then an MA in Indoamerican linguistics at CIESAS in Mexico City. Finally, I completed a doctoral degree in linguistics at UT-Austin in the US. I like to give courses about strengthening indigenous languages, and I can also be found studying Ch’ol grammar.

Juan Jes√ļs doing fieldwork in Campanario